Dubai.Hurricanes.In.Bahrain.

Playing club rugby in the UAE league is never ending fun. It may be the same process, where teams in the A and B division play each other continuously to see who shall retain the number one title as the best team in the UAE, yet however each tournament has been different with my club team, the Dubai Hurricanes and the Abu Dhabi Harlequins unremitting battle for the title. Thanks to our outstanding play and improvements with team work and support during our matches we won the Kuwait tournament hosted in Bahrain.

For some reason winning this tournament felt really special. The way we played was something to be proud of. It is one thing to feel like a team, but another to go out on the pitch and play as one. Our B division team, the Cyclones, nicknamed the Cones, played exceedingly well. It is great to know that there is so much room for growth individually as players and as a team.

Our morning started with our team meeting up at the Dubai International Airport Terminal 2 and after my coach and I putting up a fight with the people who didn’t want me to board a plane because they said I had to travel with my sponsor. The argument reminded me my dad saying that sometimes you have to step up, fight for what you want and just give it a shot. What have you got to lose? So I kept fighting for my place on that plane, because what is the worst that could happen? I’d go back home? Yes maybe of which would be dreadful as I watch my teammates fly off without me, but if I didn’t fight I’d never know. So I fought for my spot on that plane and thank my lucky stars I eventually got through with my teammates shouting at me to board the plane before it were to leave for Bahrain.

The tournament was grand!!!

Each of our teams played 5 games which included a final match. I scored several shocking tries some of which were full pitch tries and proved myself that with some practise I can achieve some greatness in the way I perform and play. I love a good competition with both easy and tough games. The Dubai Hurricanes A team [the Canes] won the A division slicing Abu Dhabi off the top of our Rugby Union League and the B team [the Cones] just lost to the Dubai Dragons in their final, but kept their heads up high as they fought an amazing battle. All in all the night turned out great.

Regardless of who won or not, everyone managed to have some fun as Dj Ollie enlightened all our spirits with some crazy music from the 90s. Everyone couldn’t stop dancing and drinking and neither could I. I had won Player of the Tournament and was also being video recorded during this tournament to show my prospective university coaches what I was made of. So thank God I put on a good performance. It turned out to be a great day and one of my favourite rugby tournaments.

All teams rushed back to the airport all tipsy yet trying to look sane amongst civilians. Big Fail!!! Some people went to the wrong gate. Half our team were running from one end of the airport to the other, some people managed to buy McDonalds and I don’t know how, but I ended up with some fries in my bag, some people from other teams were conversing with strangers in the airport and I no better…trying to talk Japanese with Koreans even after the said they were Koreans more than thrice. What a crazy night.

We arrived back in Dubai and went straight out to the town as a team. It was a tragic morning filled with worry and stress as we all watched my coach turn 10 years older with one argumentative conversation, but it turned out fantastic making all the fighting worth it.

Now I understand why majority of the players who play rugby in our league say the only reason that they’re still in this country is because of the rugby. It is because of all the crack they have right after the tournament. I learn something new every single training session and every single time I’m with my teammates. I love it!

On Fly Dubai heading to Bahrain. Maureen nodding off

On Fly Dubai heading to Bahrain. Maureen nodding off

 

IMG_5037

IMG_5234

 

IMG03150-20130201-1836

GO DUBAI HURRICANES!!! 😀

Leave a Reply

